National Jukebox

The Library of Congress has launched the National Jukebox. This collection of historical sound recordings is available free of charge to the public. The Jukebox includes over 10,000 recordings made between 1901 and 1925 by the Victor Talking Machine Company as well as additional Victor recordings made by Sony-owned U.S. labels. Sony Music Entertainment has granted the Library of Congress permission to stream acoustical recordings.

National Jukebox has featured artists, genres and playlists. Categories include vocal, instrumental, spoken and instrumental with vocal refrain. Within each category users can refine a search by language, place, target audience, composer, author, lyricist or performer.

“New recordings are added to the Jukebox every month. Later this year, we will begin digitizing recordings from additional record labels, including Columbia and Okeh, along with selected master recordings from the Library of Congress Universal Music Group Collection.” – Library of Congress


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s